Hi-Point 4595 .45acp Carbine Review
Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: Hi-Point 4595 .45acp Carbine Review

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    SE Corner of Indy
    Posts
    249
    Thanks
    49
    Thanked 90 Times in 45 Posts

    Hi-Point 4595 .45acp Carbine Review

    Hi-Point model 4595ts, 45 acp Carbine, plain jane –w- no options, and standard factory sights, purchased new, from Beech Grove Firearms for somewhere around $300 plus tax.

    Ok, first of all, lets get this out of the way,,,,, ya it’s a “Hi-Point” and yes, you will eventually get over it, even if you don’t want to.

    I forgot to take a before pic, so here is the one off of Hi-Points website.


    Specifications:
    Barrel length: 16.5"
    Overall length: 31.5 "
    Weight: 7 lbs.
    Stock: All weather polymer
    Finishes offered: Black
    Capacity: 9-shot magazine standard
    Sights: Fully-adjustable


    That said, straight out of the box, this is one #@% ugly gun, the factory sights suck, the trigger is horrible, the sling it comes with is useless, and it’s heavy.
    On the plus side, this thing is a BLAST to shoot!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Range Trip #1
    Ammo was home rolled 230 gr LRN, tumble lubed with 50/50 mix of Johnsons Paste Wax and Alox, over 5 gr of W231, ignited by Wolf LP primers. The gun functioned flawlessly with no FTF or FTE over the 100 rounds I put through it, and a dry patch run through the barrel several times didn’t pick up any lead. Light recoil due to the blowback operating system combined with a spring loaded butt plate, makes shooting this carbine very comfortable. The trigger pull was horrible, very heavy and so gritty I would have sworn there was an acre of sand in the receiver. The factory sight adjustment just plain sucked, and I never did get them dead on, but the group size was excellent, -w- a silver dollar covering 9 rounds at 10 yds, and I was able to hit a pop bottle 5 out of 9 at 50 yds. The magazine release, although placed on the pistol grip where it would work well if the gun was a pistol, is a little unhandy to operate on the carbine. When released, the empty magazines easily drop free, and the slightly over sized mag well opening, allows for fast reloads.
    Conclusion:
    Carbine is tons of fun and comfortable to shoot, needs some trigger work, along with a good sight system, and needs pimped out with a few accessories.


    At home on the bench, I found that disassembly for cleaning was rather simple but didn’t particularly like that removing the breech bolt from the barrel would require removing the front iron sight. This is more of an annoyance than anything, because you can still get to everything, but it is awkward and you risk scratching the barrel. The firing control group is rather primitive but appears to be fairly heavy duty, so should hold up reasonably well. After removing a “lot” of stamping burrs and rough edges, I was able to smooth up and lighten the trigger to a functionally acceptable level. The factory rear sight was removed and replaced with a Primary Arms M4 style red dot, and a little bling was added in the form of a Magpul AFG along with a Compensator and Dual Mag Holder, both from Hi-Point.


    And here we go all pimped out


    Accessories Added
    Primary Arms M4 Style Red Dot –w- Flash Kill, No Magnification




    Magpul AFG (Installed “After” Range Trip #2)
    Hi-Point Compensator




    Hi-Point Dual Magazine Holder (purchased as a package –w- 2 mags for a savings of $)

    Range Trip #2
    Ammo was the same home rolled as range trip #1, and this trip functioned flawlessly for 200 rounds. The trigger, although nothing to particularly brag about, was considerably lighter and smoother to start, and seemed to get better the more times it was pulled. The PA M4 Style Red Dot, is a lower 1/3rd co witness, and once set, I found will require modification of the factory front sight shroud from a full, down to a ĺ circle to provide a proper sight picture. The first shot was dead on horizontal, and only about 5” low, so walking it up only took a few rounds. I was also pleased to find that the carbines recoil is soft enough, that target reacquisition is surprisingly quick, as the bull never left the optics field of view. After burning through about 150+ rounds I decided I had better run a couple of targets for this review, so I put 9 rounds in target #1 from a rest at 10 yds slow fire. On target #2, the tight group is 9 rounds slow fire, and the remaining 9 are rapid fire at 25 yds. At 50 yds the lack of magnification in the optic, made it difficult for these old tired eyes to see the bull, but I was able to keep everything on paper, and over 95% inside the outer ring.

    Target #1


    Target #2


    Conclusion:
    Yup it’s a Hi-Point, yup it’s #%@$ ugly, but IMO a cool sort of ugly, and for a .45 acp, it is a tack driver. I’m not sure I will be able to put 9 through the same hole, like I did with the same basic gun in a 9mm, but I think I can get close. With one in the chamber, a full mag in the mag well, and 2 mounted on the stock, it gives you 28 rounds of .45 acp ready to grab and go. With 300 rounds down range with nary a hiccup I am confidant that reliability will not be any different than any other gun I own, and I will post an update to this post at 1,000 then again at 2,000 rounds down the pipe along with any problems as they arise. I still need to mount a flip up rear sight for a back up, but I am going to have to find one the right height first. For under $350 out the door, the 4595ts is a lot of bang and fun for the buck, and even on a modest budget, can be pimped out rather nicely.

    If you aren’t afraid being seen with your hands on a Hi-Point Carbine come on up to ECPR this summer and I’ll let you fondle, and maybe even give you a chance to get a finger on her trigger a few times.
    I WILL KILL THREADS HERE TOO !!!! :dunno:

  2. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to wolfman For This Useful Post:

    anthony010 (March 28th, 2011), Corporal D (March 28th, 2011), U.S. Patriot (March 31st, 2011)

  3. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    6
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I have been looking at these, thanks for the review. I was wanting something I could shoot at the range because I can only shoot pistol calibers and have 2 1911's

  4. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    16,161
    Thanks
    3,255
    Thanked 4,307 Times in 2,705 Posts
    Nice review. I hadn't seen this before.
    Cru (to A.Prentiss): How do you like brotherbillís Glock 26?
    AP: Itís a little girly.

  5. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Greene County, Indiana
    Posts
    141
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 38 Times in 19 Posts
    what mags does it take?....i looked at them but decided to get a Mech-Tech carbine 1911 .....i had 1911's any way.....nice review...


  6. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Lawrenceburg
    Posts
    7,683
    Thanks
    751
    Thanked 4,229 Times in 2,343 Posts
    At first I thought that your gun had rollers. Then I realized you just placed it at the feet of your office chair. I was like WTF does he have hanging off that thing now!

  7. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    40
    Thanks
    4
    Thanked 10 Times in 7 Posts
    Really nice review. Been looking at the 995ts myself. Can't decide between it and the Beretta CX4, but my wallet is saying Hi Point. Thanks for posting!

  8. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Starke Co
    Posts
    510
    Thanks
    172
    Thanked 134 Times in 93 Posts
    I want a .45 carbine of some sort. I was avoiding these but you may have turned me. Thanks for the review.
    Get your facts first, then you can distort them as you please. Mark Twain


  9. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Hobart, In
    Posts
    42
    Thanks
    15
    Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
    Glad to see Hi-Point released the TS-4595 after a few different release dates and was glad to see the large and ugly rifle is able to put holes on the paper. Like your review of the good and bad points of the rifle, cheap enough to pimp out.

  10. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Thanks for the very nice reveiw Wolfman, i just purchased a 4595 haven't shot yet and probably won't until after holidays. I had a 995 many yrs ago and was very happy with it. I like the improved looks of the ts. I'm probably going to be shooting between 20-50yds, and what your showing is perfect. I would like to get into reloading, since i've been retired for some yrs it would be a great pass time for me. I never done it, but i'm sure i can learn.

  11. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    NWI
    Posts
    9,278
    Thanks
    6,128
    Thanked 4,149 Times in 2,458 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Old man Tucker View Post
    Thanks for the very nice reveiw Wolfman, i just purchased a 4595 haven't shot yet and probably won't until after holidays. I had a 995 many yrs ago and was very happy with it. I like the improved looks of the ts. I'm probably going to be shooting between 20-50yds, and what your showing is perfect. I would like to get into reloading, since i've been retired for some yrs it would be a great pass time for me. I never done it, but i'm sure i can learn.

    Reloading for .45 saves you a TON of money. I can buy cast bullets and load up 1,000 for under $100. It is also a very simple case to reload and you'll lose the brass before you wear it out.
    You can buy a simple setup and pay for it in money saved after the first K. Good luck!
    Quality Fixed Blades and Folders
    WWW.BLADECOUSA.COM
    Like Us on Facebook www.facebook.com/bladecousa



  12. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Marion
    Posts
    10,414
    Thanks
    2,312
    Thanked 4,663 Times in 2,904 Posts
    Wish either of you were closer I have been wanting to try both of these out.
    Quote Originally Posted by Tango View Post
    My gf is pissed because I killed all of the houseplants while she was away for two weeks. She said to give the plants a half cup of water every other day. But I'm a dude, all I heard was gone for two weeks and cheat on me.

  13. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Monrovia
    Posts
    3,417
    Thanks
    644
    Thanked 364 Times in 272 Posts
    i had the 9mm version with the beretta clone ATI stock. I like it, it functioned well. Sold it because i never really shot it though.

  14. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    away from the trailer trash
    Posts
    5,449
    Thanks
    5,492
    Thanked 3,613 Times in 1,911 Posts
    The are ugly as hell, feel cheap as $#@! and are heavier than a mexican woman after her 5th kid... but they are a helluva lot of fun to shoot.
    "Be polite, be professional, but have a plan to kill everybody you meet." - General James Mattis, USMC

  15. The Following User Says Thank You to Corporal D For This Useful Post:

    snowman (April 17th, 2013)

  16. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    14
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by groovatron View Post
    Reloading for .45 saves you a TON of money. I can buy cast bullets and load up 1,000 for under $100. It is also a very simple case to reload and you'll lose the brass before you wear it out.
    You can buy a simple setup and pay for it in money saved after the first K. Good luck!
    Thanks groovatron, what do you think a desent set up would cost? Sounds like a win/win deal, plus i know i would enjoy loading my own. kinda makes it special, more personal.

  17. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Chandler, In
    Posts
    178
    Thanks
    2
    Thanked 44 Times in 30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Old man Tucker View Post
    Thanks groovatron, what do you think a desent set up would cost? Sounds like a win/win deal, plus i know i would enjoy loading my own. kinda makes it special, more personal.
    Kinda tough to answer. Depends on what kind of press you want.

    Single stage will be cheapest, then turret, the most expensive will be automatic but it will save you tons of time and pay for itself.

  18. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Marion
    Posts
    10,414
    Thanks
    2,312
    Thanked 4,663 Times in 2,904 Posts
    Andrew told me jumping straight into an automatic can be hairy and if you attend one of the reloading classes he puts on it will become a lot more clear
    Quote Originally Posted by Tango View Post
    My gf is pissed because I killed all of the houseplants while she was away for two weeks. She said to give the plants a half cup of water every other day. But I'm a dude, all I heard was gone for two weeks and cheat on me.

  19. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    away from the trailer trash
    Posts
    5,449
    Thanks
    5,492
    Thanked 3,613 Times in 1,911 Posts
    I'm no expert, but I took Andrew's class and I want to get a turret. You can have all of your .45 dies setup so you don't have to worry about that every time you switch stages like you would a single. You still have to do one stage at a time, but it wouldn't be too bad.
    "Be polite, be professional, but have a plan to kill everybody you meet." - General James Mattis, USMC

  20. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Scottsburg
    Posts
    467
    Thanks
    51
    Thanked 110 Times in 62 Posts
    Nice review! i have one of the 9mm carbines. Only complaint I have is i cant keep the GF in ammo to shoot it as much as she likes to

  21. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Columbus
    Posts
    10,264
    Thanks
    4,901
    Thanked 2,276 Times in 1,587 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Corporal D View Post
    I'm no expert, but I took Andrew's class and I want to get a turret. You can have all of your .45 dies setup so you don't have to worry about that every time you switch stages like you would a single. You still have to do one stage at a time, but it wouldn't be too bad.
    Even with a single stage, once your dies are set you are good to go if you use the quick change bushings.
    "Is life so dear, or peace so sweet, as to be purchased at the price of chains and slavery? Forbid it, Almighty God! I know not what course others may take; but as for me, give me liberty or give me death!"-Patrick Henry

  22. The Following User Says Thank You to U.S. Patriot For This Useful Post:

    hotfarmboy1 (February 9th, 2012)

  23. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

    Cool

    I have had experiance with allthree reloaders and have owned the single as well as the turent reloaders. my personal advise is go with the turent. its much easyer to load 10 rds go shoot them and come back make the adjustments and load a few more test shots. i will never go back to the single again. dont really like the auto just because i like to double check every shot. friend of mine has it and it misses powder drops and some time misses everything occasonally. just to many things working at once and mistakes happen. i have been doing my own for 20 years and with my own relaods i have had 2 miss fires/stove pipe shells. my auto friend has them all the time. just my 2 cents but when it come to loading posable home defince rounds i want to know every shot has everything needed to fire correctly and accurately. the first shot could be your last if it fails.

  24. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    39
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
    I had a 9mm version before pricing got stupid on them. I put an ati ithink it was stock which made it look like a berretta cx4? anyways that stock was worth it

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: May 8th, 2013, 21:47
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 14th, 2013, 13:30
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: March 6th, 2013, 13:00
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: February 26th, 2013, 12:30
  5. Review: Glock 36 slimline .45acp
    By shibumiseeker in forum AUTO-LOADERS
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: December 28th, 2010, 10:50

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •